The Vegetarian-Omnivore Position

When I have more time I may write at greater length on this…

I’m not a Vegetarian.  But I do consider myself a conscientious omnivore (for lack of a better term).  I enjoy eating chicken, beef and pork.  I don’t mind if others raise cows, chickens or pigs for the express purpose of one day killing them for profit, and (in the process) provide a source of food to the rest of us.    This is, in essence, why the beef and cattle industries exist.  But, as a consumer of these “food products,” I insist that the animals be treated humanely for the time they are alive.  I also insist that the way they are killed be as painless and humane as possible.

I don’t care if the end result is that chicken, beef or pork become more expensive.  I don’t care if this reduces the net supply of meat product to the Food Industry.  I am comfortable reducing the amount of meat in my diet (if necessary), and I am definitely comfortable if this reduces the flow of ‘fast food’ into America’s already obesity-prone diet.  Admittedly, I don’t consume fast food anyway. It is unconscionable to think that we as humans should ever use animals in a way that causes them inordinate pain and distress.  We may use animals (for our own purposes) in many ways.  But never should we resort to abusing animals just because we want cheaper meat, or cheaper fast food.  This is why I’m always on the lookout for meat packages that carry the following labels.  Note:  Clicking the image below will take you to an interactive web page that explains each label.

I hope you’ll consider doing the same…or at least begin to think about where your meat comes from and what kind of life the animals are given (including what they are fed in the process).

Naturally, I respect those that take this a step further by becoming fully vegetarian.  I don’t see myself doing this, nor do I see humanity at large doing this either.  But I admire your decision none-the-less.  In the meantime, I strongly believe there is an economically and socially viable way of finding a middle ground when it comes to consuming animals for food, while also affording them a humane existence for the time they’re here.

But it starts with Consumers…That’s you and me, and the people we know and talk to and can influence.

For those brave enough to even take a peek into how cows, chickens and pigs are currently treated (so that we can have cheaper meat and fast food), consider taking a look at the well made 2008 documentary Food, Inc. Currently available for rent on YouTube, and may also be available at your local public library.

Published in: on March 2, 2010 at 4:33 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

